Home > GIS > QGIS 1.0.0

QGIS 1.0.0

January 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

On the 10thof this month QGIS 1.0.0 was released, this is very exciting. I first started using QGIS a couple years ago.  However, since I had access to the ArcGIS suite of programs I rarely used QGIS.  Mostly for those times where I needed a portable GIS to visulize shapefiles on a computer that did not have a GIS already installed.

Recently I have had to rely on QGIS and GvSIG as my sole GIS platforms, for various reasons.  While QGIS is not perfect, it is steadilygetting better with each subsequentrelease.  I was planning on sharing my thoughts about version 0.9 but now that 1.0 has been released I think I will go over how this new version compares with previous versions. 

For more information on the current release, the QGIS’ blog  is an excellent resource as is the newly updated manual.

Categories: GIS Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

